Yi Jing – Book of Changes

As the way to penetrate deeper into the subject, understand the background and predict the outcomes, Yi Jing can provide a down-to-earth answer to almost any question.

Learn more about Yi Jing!

The Book of Changes, well known as the Yi Jing and Zhouyi, is one of the oldest Chinese classical texts. Traditionally, Fu Xi was considered as the originator of the Yi Jing.  He is said to have discovered the Trigrams on the back of a mythical turtle that emerged in front of him from the river Luo.

Each Trigram is made up of three lines: an unbroken line representing Yang and a broken line representing Yin. Eight Trigrams were arranged in the patterns known as Early Heaven and Later Heaven, reflecting the perfect state of universe and the dynamic state of change.

However, as the life was becoming more complex, the Trigrams were coupled into 64 different (six-lined) Hexagrams, which could reflect all the complexity of life.

Starting with the hexagram Heaven, these 64 Hexagrams could broadly symbolize the full range of various life situations.

History of Yi Jing

First hexagram arrangement and brief judgment of the hexagrams are attributed to the king Wen (Wen Wang Gua). His son, Duke Zhou completed the work of his father and wrote the texts for each individual (horizontal) line of the hexagrams (Yao), assigning meanings to them.

Later on, Lao Zhi, Confucius and other scholars began their lifetime study of the Yi Jing, adding interpretations and images.

In the west, Yi Jing is well known as the listing of hexagrams with commentaries; lesser known traditional systems are Mei Hua and Na Jia Yi Jing.

Yi Jing is the book that contains the sum of universal laws.

Understand and anticipate the change

As the reflection of the universe, Yi Jing is a system which shows the continuity of changes and transformations. Even when something appears stable at the surface, the change is already happening beneath.

We can not resist the change and we can not avoid it; we can just understand and anticipate that the change is an unfolding process and the only constant in our universe.

Through the history, the Book of Changes was consulted both for guidance in specific situations or dilemmas, but also for getting the information of practical values.

Each Yi Jing hexagram indicates the nature of the current change in our life; change is also indicated by the arrangement of lines from the bottom to the top of the hexagram.
A specific hexagram is derived from asking a question, by casting yarrow sticks, coins or cards; or using the date and time method.

This (original) hexagram reflects the current situation and circumstances surrounding the matter concerned.

Original hexagram contains another (inner) hexagram, known as nuclear or mutual hexagram; this hexagram tells us about direction in which events are leading. When the original hexagram contains “moving lines“, on that basis the third hexagram can be derived; this hexagram explains the outcome, i.e. solution.

Yi Jing Reading

When do you need Yi Jing reading?

As the way to penetrate deeper into the subject, understand the background and predict the outcomes, Yi Jing can provide a down-to-earth answer to almost any question.

You can enquire about anything that concerns you, personally or professionally.  You can enquire about your health, relationship, career prospects, and various circumstances affecting you or someone else.

This kind of consultation is useful when you are in dilemma and/or you would like to know the potentials of both situations.

You can even ask the question about the group of people, or you can ask for the Yi Jing overview of the current year, or month, etc.

How to make an appointment

To make an appointment for a consultation with Althea S.T., please click here

Comments are closed